Ken Jennings and Mayim Bialik are both permanent hosts of Jeopardy!

The first search for Alex Trebek's replacement was sidetracked by former EP and one-week presenter Mike Richards. 

Ken Jennings and Mayim Bialik have been splitting duties behind the podium, despite the customary Internet chatter leaning one way or the other. 

Jeopardy! executive producer Michael Davies has confirmed that Jennings and Bialik would share hosting duties through Season 39. He explained how it will work.

Jeopardymost !'s recent season was "the most-watched entertainment show on all of television," with more than 27 million weekly viewers on average. 

Michael Davies said the show's tight schedule and future ambitions made many hosts the ideal solution. 

A month after teasing an announcement, Davies confirmed that Ken Jennings and Mayim Bialik will continue as dual hosts. Here's the breakdown.

Season 39 production began in the Alex Trebek Stage on Monday, August 1.  

Executive producer Michael Davies told fans that they "won't flip-flop the hosts frequently," emphasizing that consistency is crucial