The Presidential Medal of Freedom will be awarded to Olympians Simone Biles and Megan Rapinoe

The White House announced Friday that 17 people will receive the Presidential Medal of Freedom, including Simone Biles and Megan Rapinoe.

President Joe Biden will present Biles and Rapinoe with the highest civilian honor of the United States on July 7.

According to the White House, the award is "presented to individuals who have made exemplary contributions to the prosperity, values, or security of  

the United States, world peace, or other significant societal, public, or private endeavors," listing Biles and Rapinoe's notable accomplishments.

Biles, the most decorated gymnast in the history of the United States, will be the youngest recipient of the honor at the age of 25.

She is a "prominent advocate for athletes' mental health and safety, children in the foster care system, and victims of sexual assault," according to the White House.

Besides being an Olympic gold medalist and two-time Women's World Cup champion, Rapinoe is also the captain of the OL Reign in the National Women's Soccer League.